This Just In: EarthEE

R&B and hip-hop don’t immediately come to mind when you think of Sub Pop, but when Sub Pop put their mark on the styles, they don’t disappoint. THEESatisfaction has been a Sweat favorite since their debut album, AwE NaturalE, so of course we were excited when the promo for EarthEE arrived – and we’ve been playing it a ton. The best part is that people have noticed and keep asking what it is. If you haven’t been one of those people, you can take a listen to the lead single, “Recognition,” below and delve into refreshing, conscious hip-hop that doesn’t depend on shock or swagger to bolster copycat beats. This is (we hope) a blueprint for hip-hop’s future.

THEESatisfaction – EarthEE LP, CD:
Watch/Listen – “Recognition”
“On their sophomore release for Sub Pop Records, THEESatisfaction double down on their aesthetic and vision and do what record executives dread: make a focused album that eschews any trends, making Sub Pop the perfect home for their project. Expanding on the sound palette of their fantastic debut AwE NaturalE, the Seattle-Brooklyn duo goes into even more spaced-out territory, crafting 13 smooth and complex tracks that all blend together seamlessly. EarthEE includes a cast of recurring characters, such as Shabazz Palaces’ Ishmael Butler and longtime collaborator Erik Blood, with the addition of some new voices, including Meshell Ndegeocello — whose contributions couldn’t be more pitch-perfect — and Sub Pop newcomer Porter Ray on the standout title track.

EarthEE is also a much sexier iteration of THEESatisfaction, both in lyrical content and delivery, such as on ‘Nature’s Candy,’ which blends tingling synths with lyrics about wanting to… well, you can guess judging by the title. The deceptively simple ‘Post Black, Anyway’ is an instant highlight, with ominous saxophone, sparse production and alliterative poetry jam delivery. While first single ‘Recognition’ subtly clashes with the rest of the album, it remains one of their most arresting and odd releases to date, its start-stop motion intercut with spoken word refrain and underlying woozy keys.” -Exclaim!


nEEw rEElEEases, rEEstocks and rEEissues:
7 Seconds – The Crew LP
Accused – The Return Of Martha Splatterhead LP
Adolescents – S/T LP; La Vendetta… LP
Airborne Toxic Event – Dope Machines LP
Aphex Twin – Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt2 EP CD, Syro 2LP, CD
Arcade Fire – Funeral LP; Reflektor 2LP
Arthur – Dreams & Images LP
Barrington Levy – Prison Oval Rock LP
Beach Boys – Surf’s Up LP
Beach House – Bloom 2LP; Teen Dream 2LP
Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty 2LP
Billie Holiday – The Essential Rare Collection LP
Black Cobra – Invernal LP
Black Flag – Damaged LP; First Four Years LP; My War LP; Six Pack 12”; Who’s Got The 10 1/2? LP
Black Marble – Different Arrangement LP
Boards Of Canada – Tomorrow’s Harvest 2LP
Bobby Whitlock – Raw Velvet LP
Bonobo – Black Sands 2LP; Black Sands Remixed 3LP
Broken Water – Tempest LP
Brotherhood – Til Death... LP
Christian Death – Only Theater Of Pain LP
Circle Jerks – Group Sex LP
Clark – S/T 2LP
Cock Sparrer – Shock Troops LP
Colleen Green – I Want To Grow Up LP
Converge – Petitioning Forever 2LP
Daft Punk – Alive 2007 2LP; Discovery 2LP
Dan Deacon – Gliss Riffer LP, CD*
Dengue Fever – The Deepest Lake LP*
Digable Planets – Blowout Comb 2LP
Dinosaur Jr. – Bug Live At The 9:30 Club June 2011 LP
Don Cherry – Complete Communion LP*
Donnie & Joe Emerson – Still Dreamin’ Wild LP
D.R.I. – Dirty Rotten LP
Dropdead/Brainoil – Split 7”
Drug Church – Swell EP 12”
Dutch Uncles – O Shudder LP*
Eagles Of Death Metal – Heart On LP
Erykah Badu – Baduizm LP
Ex Hex – Rips LP
Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear 2LP
Flaming Lips – Yoshimi LP
Fleetwood Mac – Bare Trees LP*; Future Games LP*; Kiln House LP*; Rumours LP
Flume – S/T
Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes 2LP;  You’re Dead CD
Free Weed – Introducing LP*
Future Brown – S/T LP*
G.B.H. – Leather, Bristles Studs & Acne LP; City Baby’s Revenge LP
GG Allin – Freaks, Faggots, Drunks & Junkies LP
Goblin – Buio Omega OST LP; Zombi OST LP
Grand Magus – Wolf’s Retrun LP*
Guster – Evermotion LP*
Halshug – Blodets Band LP*
Harvey Milk – Singles 2LP
Husker Du – Zen Arcade 2LP
Ice Cube – Death Certificate LP*
Incantation – Onward To Golgotha LP*
Iron & Wine – Archive Series Vol. 1 2LP*
Iron Maiden – The Number Of The Beast LP
Jane Birkin & Serge Gainsbourg – Je T’aime Moi Non Plus LP
Jeff Buckley – Grace LP
John T. Gast – Excerpts LP*
Joy Division – Unknown Pleasures LP
Laika – Silver Apples Of The Moon LP
Lana Del Rey – Born To Die LP
Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin IV LP; Physical Graffiti 2LP; Physical Graffiti Deluxe 3LP
Leftover Crack – Fuck World Trade 2LP
LoneLady – Bunkerpop 12″*
Lou Donaldson – Lush Life LP
M83 – Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming 2LP
Mahmoud Ahmed – Ere Mela Mela LP
Makaveli – The Don Illuminati 2LP
Marcos Valle – Previsao Do Tempo LP
Melaza – S/T LP
Metz – S/T LP
Michael Chapman – Window LP
Misfits – S/T LP; Walk Among Us LP
Mixed Feelings – Remnants LP
Moreno Veloso – Coisa Boa LP
Napalm Death – Apex Predator-Easy Meat LP
Nas – Illmatic LP
Nothing / Whirr – Split 12″ + DVD
Nozinja/Tessela – Wa Chacha 12″*
ODESZA – In Return 2LP
Offspring – Smash LP
Oneohtrix Point Never – R Plus Seven LP
Orbweaver – Strange Transmissions From The Neuralnomicon LP
Orlando Julius & His Modern Aces – Super Afro Soul 2LP
Outkast – Aquemini 3LP
Philip Glass – Candyman OST LP
Portishead – Dummy LP; Third LP
Posse – Soft Opening LP
Post Industrial Noise – The Official Anthology LP
Pretty Lights – A Color Map Of The Sun 2LP
Pulp – Different Class LP
Quicksand – S/T 7”
Refused – Songs To Fan The Flames Of Discontent LP
Rocky Erikson – Don’t Slander Me 2LP
Rodriguez – Cold Fact LP; Coming From Reality LP
Rolling Stones – ‘Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out LP; Let It Bleed LP; Through The Past Darkly LP
Romare – Projections 2LP*
Rush – Caress Of Steel LP*
Saun & Starr – Look Closer 7″*
Screaming Females – Rose Mountain LP*
Sex Pistols – Never Mind The Bollocks LP
Shai Hulud – That Within Blood Ill Tempered LP
Slaughter & The Dogs – Do It Dog Style LP
Slayer – Hell Awaits LP; World Painted Blood LP
Sonny Rollins – Saxophone Colossus LP; The Bridge LP
Spiritualized – Songs In A&E 2LP
Supreme Jubilees – It’ll All Be Over LP
Talking Heads – Remain In Light LP
The Black Angels – Passover 2LP
The Brothers & Sisters – Dylan’s Gospel LP
The Clash – Combat Rock LP
The Pop Group – Citizen Zombie LP*
The Smiths – Hatful Of Hollow LP; Strangeways, Here We Come LP
The Unicorns – Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? LP
Thelonious Monk – Genius Of Modern Music Vol. 2 LP
Thin Lizzy – Shades Of A Blue Orphanage LP; Vagabonds Of The Western World LP
Tinariwen – Emmaar 2LP
Title Fight – Hyperview LP
Tlahoun Gessesse – Ethiopian Urban Modern Music Vol. 4 LP
Todd Terje – It’s Album Time 2LP
Tom Waits – Alice LP
Tool – Undertow 2LP
Torch Runner – Endless Nothing LP
Torche – Restarter LP, CD
Toro Y Moi – Anything In Return 2LP; Causers Of This LP
Various – Afro Peruvian Classics: The Soul Of Black Peru LP
Various – Bossa Jazz Vol. 1 2LP
Various – Brazil Classics 1: Beleza Tropical LP
Various – Guardians Of The Galaxy Deluxe 2LP
Various – Haiti Direct 2CD
Various – Miami Vice OST LP
Various – Studio One Rockers LP
Various – Studio One Rocksteady 2LP
Various – Studio One Ska Fever 2LP
Various – Studio One Soul 2LP
Various – Wheedle’s Groove 2LP
Various – Wheedle’s Groove Vol. 2 2LP
Veruca Salt – American Thighs LP
Varukers – Bloodsuckers LP
Violent Femmes – S/T LP
Visitors – S/T LP
War On Women – S/T LP
Warhorse – As Heaven Turns To Ash LP*
Wendy Rene – After Laughter Comes Tears 2LP
Wu-Tang Clan – Iron Flag 2LP; Legend Of The Wu Tang (Greatest Hits) LP
Xiblaba – Tierra Y Libertad LP*
Youth Of Today – Can’t Close My Eyes LP*

*Indicates new release or new reissue