Other Electricities & Roofless Records Release Holly Hunt’s Debut LP “Year One”

Miami forces combine and get heavy with the much-anticipated debut LP from HOLLY HUNT. Year One is being released on December 11th by standout hometown labels Other Electricities and Roofless Records. Stream part of the album here and get a free download below to hold off your hunger for the release date!

Year One is the debut full-length album from Holly Hunt, South Florida’s acclaimed two-piece instru-metal behemoth.

Recorded by Jonathan Nuñez (Torche), mixed by Ryan Haft (Capsule) and mastered by Nick Zampiello and Rob Gonnella at New Alliance East, this 39 minute-long, 10-song suite is constructed upon sonic architecture ornate as a royal catacomb and stunningly epic, like an ancient city frozen in time under a heavy sheet of black, hardened lava.

In their first 365 days as a band, drummer Beatriz Monteavaro (Floor, Cavity) and guitarist Gavin Perry became the undeniable sweethearts of Miami’s disparate music scenes. To paraphrase a description of 80s movie hero Ferris Bueller, “The punks, the metalheads, the art-rockers: they all think he’s a righteous dude.”

In the grand tradition of Monteavaro’s previous musical endeavors, Holly Hunt champions heavy metal’s potential to transcend genre and become a physical experience. Though stripped down to the most bare essentials, the duo’s innate technical chops, strong dialogue, and incredibly deep relationship to their gear produces a sound and style far beyond rudimentary tags like “heavy,” “hard,” or “brutal.”

Year One captures the band’s brilliant signatures – the meditative power of repetition; the ecstatic joy of tempered variation; infinitely undulating riffage; psychedelic drone paired with rock n’ roll rhythm – in full splendor.

We’re proud to be releasing Year One on 12/11/12 along with our friends at Roofless Records. It will be available on double, heavyweight vinyl or as a digital download.